National Library of Australia

Enjoy a CovidSafe visit to the National Library.

Provided by National Library of Australia Authority File

Est. Apr. 21, 1930, and assumed transport functions from the former Dept. of Markets and Transport. Abolished Apr. 12, 1932, when its functions were transferred to the new Dept. of the Interior and Dept. of Commerce. Re-est. June 26, 1941; and succeeded Mar. 16, 1950, by Dept. of Fuel, Shipping and Transport. This was succeeded, May 11, 1951, by Dept. of Shipping and Transport and Dept. of National Development. On Dec. 19, 1972, Dept. of Shipping and Transport was succeeded by Dept. of Secondary Industry and a new Dept. of Transport, which absorbed the whole of the Dept. of Civil Aviation on Nov. 30, 1973. On May 7, 1982, Dept. of Transport was succeeded by Dept. of Aviation and Dept. of Transport and Construction. On Mar. 11, 1983, Dept. of Transport and Construction was succeeded by Dept. of Housing and Construction and another new Dept. of Transport. In 1987 Dept. of Transport merged with the Dept. of Aviation and the Dept. of Communications to form Dept. of Transport and Communications. In January 1994 this department was split to reestablish the Dept. of Transport and form a new Dept. of Communications and the Arts. In March 1996, the Dept. of Transport absorbed some of the regional development functions of the Dept. of Housing and Regional Development to form the Dept. of Transport and Regional Development. Works by these bodies are found under the name used at the time of publication

Showing 1 - 20 of 1565 Results for author:"Australia. Department of Transport"
Sort by:
by Australia. Department of Transport
[Melbourne?] : Department of Transport, [1979?-1991?]
by Western Australia. Department of Transport (2009- )
Fremantle, Western Australia : Department of Transport, [2012?]
BookBook [text, volume]
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flags
Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and other First Nations people are advised that this catalogue contains names, recordings and images of deceased people and other content that may be culturally sensitive. Please also be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in this catalogue which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.