National Library of Australia

Enjoy a CovidSafe visit to the National Library. Read more...

Provided by National Library of Australia Authority File

A distinct Mining Dept. was first established in Victoria in 1863, taking over the existing organisation of mining law administration; responsible ministers frequently had other departmental responsibilities, including Water Supply. A separate Secretary for the Victorian Water Supply was appointed in 1890, and these particular functions remained separated until 1903. In 1906/1907 the Dept. was split into the Dept. of Mines and the State Rivers and Water Supply Commission. The Dept. of Mines reverted to its earlier name in 1963/1964. On 1 Sept. 1977 the Ministry of Fuel and Power and the Mines Dept. amalgamated to form the Dept. of Minerals and Energy. In March 1985 the Dept. changed its name to the Office of Minerals and Energy. Works by these bodies are found under the name used at the time of publication

Showing 1 - 20 of 103 Results for author:"Victoria. Mines Department"
Sort by:
 
 
 
 
 
by Victoria. Mines Department
Melbourne : Robt. S. Brain, Govt. Printer, 1895-1898
 
 
by Victoria. Mines Department
Ballarat, Vic. : Dave Evans, 2004-<2008>
 
by Victoria. Mines Department
[Melbourne] : Published under the direction of A.W. Howitt, Secretary for Mines; the Hon H. Foster, Minister for Mines : Lith'd by C. Glover, July 1895
 
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flags
Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and other First Nations people are advised that this catalogue contains names, recordings and images of deceased people and other content that may be culturally sensitive. Please also be aware that you may see certain words or descriptions in this catalogue which reflect the author’s attitude or that of the period in which the item was created and may now be considered offensive.