National Library of Australia

Provided by National Library of Australia Authority File

A distinct Mining Dept. was first established in Victoria in 1863, taking over the existing organisation of mining law administration; responsible ministers frequently had other departmental responsibilities, including Water Supply. A separate Secretary for the Victorian Water Supply was appointed in 1890, and these particular functions remained separated until 1903. In 1906/1907 the Dept. was split into the Dept. of Mines and the State Rivers and Water Supply Commission. The Dept. of Mines reverted to its earlier name in 1963/1964. On 1 Sept. 1977 the Ministry of Fuel and Power and the Mines Dept. amalgamated to form the Dept. of Minerals and Energy. In March 1985 the Dept. changed its name to the Office of Minerals and Energy. Works by these bodies are found under the name used at the time of publication

Showing 1 - 20 of 102 Results for author:"Victoria. Mines Department"
Sort by:
by Victoria. Mines Department
Ballarat, Vic. : Dave Evans, 2004-<2008>
New search | User lists | Site feedback | Ask a librarian | Help
Members of Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori communities are advised that this catalogue contains names and images of deceased people. All users of the catalogue should also be aware that certain words, terms or descriptions may be culturally sensitive and may be considered inappropriate today, but may have reflected the author's/creator's attitude or that of the period in which they were written.